I Want to be Like Her

This morning I was thinking of all of the things I needed to do today.  This list in my head started with feed my children, get them ready for the day, take Joshua to school, engage in some exercise, get myself ready for the day, feed my baby, get dinner prepped, pick up Joshua from school, eat lunch, play with my kids, make some muffins, get the kids down for rest and quiet times, give myself some quiet time in the Word, do an activity with Joshua and maybe take him for a bike ride, then supper, bedtime routine, and time with my husband.  I realized that most of my day is spent keeping my family alive!  I am sure many of my mommy friends can relate!  As a mother of 2 children now, of course, this is my main job, but I can’t help but think that I could do something a little bit better to do more.  As I was reading in the Word today, I was reminded and amazed of the abilities of the Proverbs 31 woman.  I kept thinking, “I want to be like her” over and over again.  She is a very busy woman!  She is up before the sun (15), she provides food for her family (15), she runs several businesses (16, 18, 19, 22, 24), she helps the poor (20), she doesn’t worry ( 21), she speaks with wisdom and instruction (26), she raises her children and they call her blessed (28), and she fears the Lord (30).

So as I was thinking about what I could do better, I came up with 3 things:

1. I can pray more for my children.  I want my children to LOVE the Word and spend time in it daily.  Proverbs 7:2-3 says “Keep my commands and you will live; guard my teachings as the apple of your eye.  Bind them on your fingers; write them on the tablet of your heart.” I want my children to have wisdom to be able to discern what is right.  Philippians 1:9-10 says “And this is my prayer: that your love may abound more and more in knowledge and depth of insight, so that you may be able to discern what is best and may be pure and blameless until the day of Christ”  I want to pray more for them FROM the Word.

2. I can do more things that matter for the kingdom of God.  This list could be quite extensive, but two things in particular stuck out to me as I read through Proverbs 31 today.  I DON’T want to worry or complain.  I think it would be really amazing if I could go through my days without complaining or worrying about anything.  I know that others would start wondering or seeing me as “different”.  And wouldn’t it be “grand” (that’s for all of you Irish folks following me) if people wondered why I never complained or worried.  What a great opportunity to tell of Jesus!

3.  I can learn to see God in ALL things.  Lately the Lord has been reminding me that he has his hand in everything.  When we first moved here to Ireland I found myself out of my comfort zone, a little down, and complaining a lot.  I was wondering, “why did we decide to come here?”  “why did we end up so far from Adam’s work?” “why do we have to live so far from others we know from NM?”  This list of complaints and questions could go on and on.  Well, I think the Lord has shown me why we live where we do.  There is a reason for EVERYTHING.  We found an amazing church less than 1 mile from our house called Ballycullen Community Church, and along with this church, some amazing friends.  Adam and I have some work to do here, for the Lord, and he is slowly showing us why we ended up here in Ireland.  Each weekend we are trying to visit some “sights” in Ireland, and it is really hard to NOT see the Lord’s hand in this world.

South of Dublin
South of Dublin

I am going to work hard to be like the her.  I am going to pray for my children more.  I am going to remember that God is in charge and not worry or complain.  I am going to see Him in ALL things.

Leave a Reply

